Doctors Of The Church

“Doctor of The Church” is a title bestowed on a saint by the Holy Catholic Church after determining that the writings of the saint are of universal importance.

The saints honored with this honorific title are:

  • St. Albert
  • St. Alphonsus Liguori
  • St. Ambrose
  • St. Anselm
  • St. Anthony of Padua
  • St. Athanasius
  • St. Augustine
  • St. Basil
  • St. Bede, the Venerable
  • St. Bernard of Clairvaux
  • St. Bonaventure
  • St. Catherine of Siena
  • St. Cyril of Alexandria
  • St. Cyril of Jerusalem
  • St. Ephraem of Syria
  • St. Francis de Sales
  • St. Gregory Nazianzus
  • St. Gregory the Great
  • St. Hilary of Poitiers
  • St. Hildegard of Bingen
  • St. Isidore
  • St. Jerome
  • St. John of Avila (soon to be declared a Doctor, perhaps in 2012 A.D.)
  • St. John Chrysostom
  • St. John Damascene
  • St. John of the Cross
  • St. Lawrence of Brindisi
  • St. Leo the Great
  • St. Peter Canisius, SJ
  • St. Peter Chrysologus
  • St. Peter Damian, SJ
  • St. Robert Bellarmine, SJ
  • St. Teresa of Avila
  • St. Therese of Lisieux
  • St. Thomas Aquinas, OP

1 thought on “Doctors Of The Church”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s