Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are folks who have faith in God, but their faith is weak.

In the case when there is ‘no intentional denial’ of the Triune God (or of any of the persons of God: Father, Son and Holy Spirit) but the faith is weak (manifesting itself as nagging doubts or fixations on questioning the truth of great mysteries)… what does one do?

Such a person should pray like the man in the Gospel of St. Mark (Chapter 9 Verses 22-23): ‘I do believe, Lord. Help my unbelief.’

Many people have to pray this way.

Fr. Mitch Pacwa, S.J. thinks that the good Lord will take a person’s faith, as it is and help breathe it into a flame but we should pray for the grace to allow the good Lord to help us grow in faith from moment to moment and day to day.

O, dear Jesus, Joseph and Mary, I pray that my soul may increase in holiness with each passing moment of time.

May I receive the graces to grow in faith, hope and charity. Help me Lord to believe and help me in my areas of unbelief.

Amen.

According to St. Matthew’s Gospel: Christ does not quench the smoldering wick or break off the bruised reed… [‘The bruised reed He shall not break: and smoking flax He shall not extinguish: till he send forth judgment unto victory. And in His name the Gentiles shall hope.’ – – Gospel of St. Matthew Chapter 12 verses 20-21]

So, for the person whose faith is weak: take heart, for the Lord will help you if you are willing to receive that help.

Click on this EWTN link to hear and see Fr. Pacwa answer a question concerning belief in the Holy Spirit → Take me to the video!

