Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Following is an excerpt from a Homily given by Father Larry Richards of the Diocese of Erie, Pennsylvania, given on 4 May 2012 A.D.:

… when God looks at us He says, ‘Do not let your heart be troubled.’

How often do we, when we go to God, is our heart troubled?

… our hearts are filled with trouble.

And, He says, ‘Ssshhh, ssshhh do not let your heart be troubled. You’re My beloved daughter, you’re My beloved son; come here, let Me hold you for a while.’

So, I encourage you.

We all need to say our prayers, every day… always say a Rosary, every day… when the Holy Mother leaves Heaven, to ask us to say the Rosary every day, especially during this month of May, what are you going to do? Say a Rosary every day! Right?

If you’re one of those people who say, ‘Oh, I say a Rosary sometimes.’ Stop it! You say a Rosary every day.

And then, a Divine Mercy Chaplet… right, because it’s a great thing… we all need mercy. And so, you do those things but then,

Remember the Baltimore Catechism?…

Who made me? God made me.

Why did God make me? God made me to know Him, love Him and serve Him in this world so I can be happy with Him forever in the next.

So, how do I get to know God? Psalm 45 verse 11… says: ‘Be still’ (cessate)

So, if you and I are going to come to know that we are beloved and know that our hearts can’t be troubled and know that we are sons and daughters of the Father, in Jesus Christ, then in our prayer time we need time for stillness.

What does ‘stillness’ mean? That we shut up! We shut up in prayer and we let God speak to us. We have silence. In my Adoration Chapel, I’m the only one in my diocese where we have perpetual adoration and we have over 650 people there a week, and they said, ‘Father, what am I going to do when I go in front of Jesus?’ and I say, ‘Shut up and know that He is God,’ but I couldn’t put that up on the wall. So on the wall I have ‘Be still, and know that I am God’ (cessate et cognoscite quoniam ego sum Deus).

Just be with Jesus… He wants us to know that we are beloved to Him.

He wants you and I to know that so much that we become His presence in the world to others so that other people become beloved to us. There’s no room for us to judge them because we are here to love them, just like God does.

We judge deeds, of course, just like God judges deeds but ‘we love people.’

That shows that a person is truly in Christ is when they become ‘love in the world’.

And, we can’t become ‘love in the world’ unless we know that we are loved. And that’s why it’s so important, every day, be still… know that He is God… know that you are beloved… and you and I don’t have to go through anything alone (because) He’s with us… because He is the way, the truth and the light.

You can see and hear the video presentation of this homily by clicking on this EWTN link.