Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Who is the Creator of All Things? Jesus

‘Hide and Seek’ is a game. It is a thing. And since Jesus created all things, it follows that He created the game of ‘Hide and Seek’.

He hides and we seek Him.

That’s the way it works.

And He’s been playing the game for a long time.

He hid from His earthly parents, Mary and Joseph, for three days. To His parents that was ‘no game’ and they sought Him in sorrow. They continued their search and didn’t stop looking for Him until He was found three days later.

And He hides even at this very moment.

Where is He?

He hides in the Holy Eucharist and we must seek Him out. In the case of the Blessed Sacrament, His ‘hide and seek’ secret has long been revealed insofar as He has chosen to hide from us under the appearance of consecrated bread and consecrated wine. Those who look with healthy eyes of faith can see through His mysterious disguise. He can’t fool us unless we allow ourselves to lose faith by neglecting our duties to grow in faith, hope and charity.

Come out, come out, where ever You are.

Jesus is currently hiding in a Tabernacle near you. Go to Him. And, let Him know that you’ve found Him and that you desire the grace to never lose Him again. But…

Since He deserves, and all the Angels and Saints demand, due reverence please remember to approach wearing ‘your Sunday best.’ Also, upon entering His sacred temple, bless yourself with Holy Water while making the Sign of the Cross on your body. Then, approach in silence into His Church (a Catholic Church), genuflect and bow with great purpose and humility.  Sit in His presence quietly and offer Him your love by being quiet and composed. Pray in His presence and thank Him for  allowing you to find Him.

Dear Jesus, I love You. Thank You for allowing me to visit with You. I love You and I trust in You. Have mercy on me, Your poor creature. I love You.

Don’t be surprised if He stays hidden because until the game is over there are many others who are seeking Him and have yet to find Him. You can help them find Him too.

Let’s read the words of Saint Alphonsus Liguori, a Doctor of the Church, from his book: ‘Visits To The Blessed Sacrament And The Blessed Virgin Mary’:

What a wonderful sight it must have been to see our dear Redeemer that day He sat down by the side of the well, tired out after His journey, waiting, in all gentleness and charity, for the coming of the Samaritan woman that He might win her from sin and save her soul.

Now Jacob’s well was there. Jesus therefore, being wearied with his journey, sat thus on the well. It was about the sixth hour. [erat autem ibi fons Iacob Iesus ergo fatigatus ex itinere sedebat sic super fontem hora erat quasi sexta] (John 4:6).

It is exactly in this way that the very same Jesus lives now with us all day long [in the Tabernacle], where He has come from Heaven itself. Every [Tabernacle] is a well of grace where He waits for souls and invites them to stay with Him, at least for a while, that He may win them over to loving Him perfectly. From every [Tabernacle] where the Blessed Sacrament is, He seems to speak to us all and say: Why do you shun Me? Why do you not come to visit Me, seeing that I love you so much and that it is for your sake I remain here in this humble state? Of what are you afraid? It is not to pass judgment that I have come on earth, but to do good and to save all those who have recourse to Me. That is why I have hidden myself in this Sacrament of Love.

I came not to judge the world, but to save the world. [ego non iudico eum non enim veni ut iudicem mundum sed ut salvificem mundum] (John 12:47).

Let us try to realize that just as Jesus Christ in Heaven is always living to make intercession for us [semper vivens ad interpellandum pro eis] (The Epistle Of St. Paul To The Hebrews 7:25), so in the Blessed Sacrament too He is always, night and day, interceding for us, offering Himself as a victim to His Eternal Father to win us God’s mercy and numberless graces. And so the holy Thomas à Kempis says that we ought to come to Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament without fear of being punished and that we should speak to Him without any feeling of restraint, just we would a dear friend.

Since, then, my hidden Lord and King, You wish me to regard You as a friend, with complete confidence I shall open my heart to You and say: ‘O my Jesus, You who love souls so much, I well realize the injustice that men do You. You love them, but they do not love You. [You play hide and seek with them and they do not search for You. You wait for them and they do no come to You. You come and they are not here.]

You are kind and good to them, but they despise You. You wish them to hear Your voice, but they will not listen. You offer them graces, and they refuse them.

O my Jesus, is it not true that at one time I also was ungrateful and displeased Thee as they? Unfortunately it is only too true!

But, during the days of life that still remain to me, I wish to make amends. By doing all that I possibly can to please You and console You, I hope to make reparation for the displeasure I have caused You.

Tell me, O Lord, what Your will is. I wish to carry it out without any reservation. Make it known to me through obedience, and I hope to be able to do it. My God, I sincerely promise You from today forward that, whenever there is a choice, I will always choose what I know to be more pleasing to Thee, even though that choice should cost me the loss of everything – of parents, friends, esteem, health, even of life itself. Let me lose them all, if only it be Your will.

Happy is the los indeed, O my God, when everything is sacrificed to satisfy Your Heart. I love Thee, my good God, You Who are more worthy of love than anything else that is good. And in loving Thee I unite my heart to the love of the Seraphim. I unite it to the Heart of Mary, to the Heart of Jesus. I love Thee with all my heart. I will love only Thee and will do so always.

Aspiration: My God, my God, I belong to Thee, and You to me.