Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Consider the following quote about martyrs and martyrdom:

Well each martyr is a gift of God. No martyr is looking for death. And, no martyr is looking for persecution. But, they show us the power of the faith. And they show us the beauty of the faith because the stories of the martyrs are beautiful because in their life they are so close to Jesus, therefore, they are beautiful. The martyrs, they were persecuted but they were not answering evil with evil. They were answering evil with good! And they were forgiving their own persecutors. So, in the stories of the martyrs, we can see the stories of true disciples of Christ. So, this is a gift of the Church .

– – Fr. Angelo Romano, Parish Priest of St. Bartholomew’s Basilica in Rome – –

Here’s a video link of a Vaticano TV episode featuring Father Angelo Romano speaking about the St. Bartholomew’s Basilica and martyrdom.

Here’s a prayer by Saint Thomas More, English Martyr killed supporting truth and the Roman Catholic Faith when those in power around him were engaged in launching the error called: the protestant reformation.

 Give me the grace good Lord, 
to set the world at naught; 
to set my mind fast upon Thee 
and not to hang upon the blast of men’s mouths. 
To be content to be solitary. 
Not to long for worldly company 
but utterly to cast off the world 
and rid my mind the business thereof. 
Not to long to hear of any worldly things, 
But that the hearing of worldly phantasies may be to me displeasant. 
Gladly to be thinking of God, 
Piteously to call for His help, 
To lean unto the comfort of God, 
Busily to labor to love Him. 
To know mine own vility and wretchedness, 
To humble and meeken myself under the mighty hand of God, 
To bewail my sins passed; 
For the purging of them, patiently to suffer adversity. 
Gladly to bear my purgatory here, 
To be joyful of tribulations, 
To walk the narrow way the leadeth to life. 
To bear the cross with Christ, 
To have the last thing–death–in remembrance, 
To have ever afore mine eye my death, that is ever at hand; 
To make death no stranger to me; 
To foresee and consider the everlasting fire of hell; 
To pray for pardon before the Judge come. 
To have continually in mind the passion that Christ suffered for me; 
For His benefits uncessantly to give Him thanks, 
To but the time again that I before have lost. 
To abstain from vain confabulations, 
To eschew light foolish mirth and gladness; 
Recreations not necessary, to cut off. 
Of worldly substance, friends, liberty, life and all–to set the loss at nought 
for the winning of Christ. 
To think my most enemies my best friends, 
For the brethren of Joseph could never have done him so much good 
with their love and favor as they did him with their 
malice and hatred.

Saint Thomas More, pray for us!

Dear Jesus, Thank You for all the graces You bestowed upon Saint Thomas More and upon all Your Angels and Saints. Amen!

Dear Virgin Mary, Mother of God (Mater Dei), my Mother (Mater mea), my Confidence (Fiducia mea), and my Queen (et Regina mea) pray for us (ora pro nobis) to your Son, Our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen!

